Bookmark and ShareShare

Don Ingber and Wyss Institute Win World Technology Awards

Don Ingber, Sara Haines, and James Clark
Don Ingber (center) with Today Show correspondent Sara Haines and WTN chairman James Clark. (Photo courtesy WTN.)

October 24, 2012
The World Technology Network (WTN) announced last night that both the Wyss Institute and Wyss Founding Director Don Ingber, M.D., Ph.D., won awards in the biotechnology category. The awards honor the world's most significant innovators in science and technology who are "creating the 21st century" -- and the Wyss Institute made an impressive showing, having won in two separate categories: one for an organization, and one for an individual.

The awards were announced during a black-tie ceremony at the Time & Life Building in New York City by the WTN in association with TIME, Fortune, CNN, Science/AAAS, and Technology Review. The theme of the event was "Nothing Will Ever Be the Same Again"--a nod to the groundbreaking work being undertaken by the nominees, who were selected by the winners and finalists from previous awards through an intensive, global process lasting many months.

World Technology Network

Last year, Wyss Institute Core Faculty member, James J. Collins, Ph.D., won the WTN award in the biotechnology category in recognition of his work in synthetic biology and antibiotic drug discovery.

In total, there were 50 corporate Finalists (in 10 categories) and 100 individual Finalists (in 20 categories). The nominees and winners become part of a global community of people that has been growing since 2000 who "help create our collective future and change our world," says James Clark, founder and chairman of the WTN.

We've won a Webby Award!

Wyss Institute is proud to announce our win in the 2012
Webby Awards in the Science category.