Skip to Main Content Menu Search Site

Wyss Institute at Harvard wins 2012 Webby Award

Prestigious internet award honors excellence in content, structure, visual design, functionality, and overall experience

The Wyss Institute is winner of the 2012 Webby Award in the category of Science.

The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences announced today that the Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering at Harvard University is the winner of the 2012 Webby Award in the category of Science.

Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, interactive advertising & media, online film & video, and mobile & apps.

The Wyss Institute will be honored at the star-studded, live online broadcast of The Webby Awards from New York City’s Hammerstein Ballroom on Monday, May 21, 2012. Fans will be able to watch the awards ceremony, including the Wyss Institute’s 5-word speech, at starting at 4:30PM EDT. A full list of this year’s Webby Award winners is listed at

The Wyss website combines a bold color palette, striking imagery and innovative content to capture the collaborative culture and translational work of the Wyss community. Among its many multimedia features are animations, videos, and interactive activities, such as building virtual nano structures using DNA origami and understanding how the human lung-on-chip technology works using a 3D rendered animation.

“The Webby Awards honors the very best of the Internet,” said David-Michel Davies, Executive Director of the Webby Awards. “The Wyss Institute’s achievement is a testament to the skill, ingenuity and vision of its creators.”

The 15th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from over 60 countries and all 50 US states. Academy judges included Twitter Co-Founder Biz Stone, Arianna Huffington, Richard Branson, and mobile phone inventor Martin Cooper.

Founded in 1996, The Webby Awards are known worldwide for its famous 5-word speech limit. Past Webby Award winners — and their speeches — include Al Gore (“Please don’t recount this vote”), Beastie Boys (“Can anyone fix my computer?”), and Stephen Colbert (“Me. Me. Me. Me. Me.”).

Close menu