Skip to Main Content Menu Search Site

Jennifer Lewis elected to National Academy of Engineering

Materials scientist honored for contributions to 3D printing of multifunctional structures

By Leah Burrows

Jennifer A. Lewis, a Core Faculty member of the Wyss Institute of Biologically Inspired Engineering and the Hansjörg Wyss Professor of Biologically Inspired Engineering at the Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE).

Jennifer Lewis elected to National Academy of Engineering

Lewis’ research focuses on the design and fabrication of functional, structural and biological materials. Her pioneering work in the field of microscale 3D printing is advancing the development of electronics, soft robotics, lightweight structures, and vascularized human tissues.

Lewis is an inventor on more than 40 pending or issued patents and founded the startup company Voxel8, Inc., to commercialize the first multi-material 3D printing for the fabrication of embedded electronics.

She is among 84 new members elected to the NAE, chosen for their outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice, or education and their pioneering work into new and developing fields of technology.  Lewis is being honored for her “development of materials and processes for 3-dimensional direct fabrication of multifunctional structures.”

Lewis earned a Sc.D. in Ceramic Science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Her many honors include the NSF Presidential Faculty Fellow Award, the Brunauer and Sosman Awards from the American Ceramic Society, the Langmuir Lecture Award from the American Chemical Society and the Materials Research Society Medal. She is a Fellow of the American Ceramic Society, the American Physical Society, the Materials Research Society, the National Academy of Inventors and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on Oct. 8, 2017.

Close menu